Main opposition CHP reveals names of mayoral candidates for 16 provinces


The main opposition Republican People’s Party (CHP) has revealed the names of its mayoral candidates for 16 provinces.

The party picked the currently serving mayors of eight cities to re-run, six of whom will run for metropolitan municipalities, which have bigger budgets.

In a statement on Dec. 6, the party said Eskişehir Mayor Yılmaz Büyükerşen, Hatay Mayor Lütfü Savaş, Muğla Mayor Osman Gürün, Aydın Mayor Özlem Çerçioğlu and Tekirdağ Mayor Kadir Albayrak will run for another term.

Edirne Mayor Recep Gürkan will also run for another term.

The party also announced its candidates for dozens of districts.

This was the first CHP list announced for the March 31, 2019 local elections, as the party continues talks with the İYİ (Good) Party for a partial alliance.

The main opposition party is yet to reveal candidates for Turkey’s three largest cities, Istanbul, Ankara and İzmir.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here