Post-Soviet Security Group to Open Academy in Armenia


Armenia’s government on Thursday agreed to establish an academy of a Russian-led collective security organization in the capital Yerevan, the government press service said.

In a letter to the Armenian president, the general secretary of the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) has proposed that a CSTO Academy be opened in Yerevan, to be co-founded by the CSTO Institute, its Yerevan branch, and the Russian Foreign Ministry’s A.M. Gorchakov Public Diplomacy Support Foundation.

The project is designed, among other things, to promote “favorable public opinion about the CSTO through the efforts of scholars, political scientists, experts, and young political and public activists from the member states,” the Armenian government said in a press release.

The academy project has been approved by Armenian, Russian and Kazakh foreign ministers, as well as the head of the Armenian National Security Council.

The CSTO’s current members are Russia, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Tajikistan.

In December, Uzbekistan officially suspended its CSTO.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here