Women’s World Cup heads to Round of 16 in Canada


The group stages are over at the Women’s World Cup in Canada. The Round of 16 begins on Saturday with Germany taking on Sweden. The winner will play either France or South Korea in the following round.

The Round of 16 matches start on Saturday and go through to Tuesday.

On Saturday, top-seeded Germany will play Sweden in Ottawa. China will take on Cameroon.

On Sunday group winners Brazil play Australia. South Korea finished second to Brazil in their group and will play France. Canada tackle Switzerland.

There are two matches on Monday with Norway playing England and the USA taking on Colombia.

Tuesday’s match is Japan against the Netherlands.

Group highlights

Third-ranked France bounced back from a shock defeat to Colombia by beating Mexico 5-0 in Ottawa to finish top of their group.

“We made things difficult for ourselves by losing against Colombia,” France coach Philippe Bergeroo said of their 2-0 defeat which was one of the biggest upsets in the tournament’s 24-year history.

The US team won the toughest group and now face Colombia, who came third in their group. The US fans turned out in record numbers.

England face a tough match against 1995 champions Norway who held Germany to a 1-1 draw in their group tie. England have now advanced past the group stage for the fourth time: “It’s mission accomplished,” coach Mark Sampson said. “We’ve showed we are an adaptable English side with a winning mentality.”

Looking ahead to the Norway game he said: “We’re going to face a really good Norwegian side who have drawn with the best team in the tournament Germany.”

Germany beat Thailand 4-0 in their last group match on Monday. “It wasn’t our best match but it gives us a bit more self confidence,” said Germany’s Melanie Leupolz.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here