West Indies vs. England cricket: ODI series fixtures, T20 squads, TV and radio


The Week

England lead the one-day series 2-1 with one match left to play

England’s Adil Rashid and Jos Buttler celebrate a wicket against the West Indies in the fourth ODI

England captain Eoin Morgan has praised his team for “stealing” the win against the West Indies in the fourth one-day international (ODI).

In Grenada the tourists secured a thrilling 29-run victory, the BBC reports, which puts them 2-1 up in the five-match series with one game left to play.

Jos Buttler’s 150 and Morgan’s 103 put England in control as they scored 418-6 from their 50 overs. But a superb 162 by Chris Gayle gave the Windies hope before Adil Rashid took four wickets in the 48th over to seal the win for England.

Leg-spin bowler Rashid finished with figures of 5-85 as the Windies were dismissed for 389.

Speaking after the victory in Grenada, England skipper Morgan said: “It shows we can find a way of stealing a game of cricket.

“We were in second position for much of the West Indies innings and that magnificent performance from Adil to win us the game means a huge amount because it creates more belief that we can win when our backs are against the wall.”

The final ODI of the series will be played at the Darren Sammy Cricket Stadium in St Lucia on Saturday 2 March. The match starts at 3pm (GMT).

West Indies vs. England: ODI squads

West Indies ODI squad

Jason Holder (captain), Fabian Allen, Devendra Bishoo, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, John Campbell, Sheldon Cottrell, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Ashley Nurse, Nicholas Pooran, Oshane Thomas

England ODI squad

Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

England name T20 squad

England have named a 14-man squad for the three-match Twenty20 international series against the West Indies.

Wicketkeeper Sam Billings and batsman Dawid Malan are recalled to the squad for the first time since last year’s tour of Australia and New Zealand.

The England and Wales Cricket Board has confirmed that all-rounder Ben Stokes and wicketkeeper Jos Buttler will be rested and will return home after the fifth ODI on 2 March. Surrey batsman Jason Roy will also miss the T20 series to return home for the birth of his first child after the final ODI.

The first T20 takes place on 5 March at the Darren Sammy Cricket Stadium in St Lucia (8pm GMT). The second and third T20s are on 8 and 10 March.

England 14-man T20 squad

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex, captain), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Sam Billings (Kent), Tom Curran (Surrey), Joe Denly (Kent), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Dawid Malan (Middlesex), Liam Plunkett (Surrey), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), David Willey (Yorkshire), Mark Wood (Durham)

Results and fixtures (all times GMT)

Test results and fixtres

  • 1st Test, Barbados: West Indies won by 381 runs
  • 2nd Test, Antigua: West Indies won by ten wickets
  • 3rd Test, St Lucia: England won by 232 runs
  • West Indies won the Test series 2-1

One-day international (ODI) matches

  • 1st ODI, Barbados: England won by six wickets
  • 2nd ODI, Barbados: West Indies won by 26 runs
  • 3rd ODI, Grenada: abandoned due to rain
  • 4th ODI, Grenada: England on by 29 runs
  • 2 March 2019: 5th ODI at Darren Sammy Cricket Stadium, St Lucia (3pm)

International Twenty20s (IT20)

  • 5 March 2019: 1st IT20 at Darren Sammy Cricket Stadium, St Lucia (8pm)
  • 8 March 2019: 2nd IT20 at Warner Park, St Kitts and Nevis (8pm)
  • 10 March 2019: 3rd IT20 at Warner Park, St Kitts and Nevis (8pm)

TV and radio coverage

The West Indies vs. England cricket series will be broadcast live on Sky Sports Cricket. Sky’s punditry team will include David Lloyd, Nasser Hussain and Mike Atherton. Radio commentary will be broadcast on talkSPORT 2.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here