New Strategy for a stronger partnership with Central Asia


By ep|neonline

The European Commission and the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy adopted the new Joint Communication, that sets out a fresh vision for a stronger partnership with the five countries of Central Asia: Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. It proposes to focus future EU engagement on partnering for resilience and for prosperity. In addition, the EU is determined to invest in regional cooperation in Central Asia, helping the countries of the region to promote dialogue and cooperation at their own pace.
The Joint Communication will be discussed in the Council and the European Parliament. EU’s foreign policy chief, Federica Mogherini, together with International Cooperation and Development Commissioner Neven Mimica, intends to present formally the new EU Strategy on Central Asia to her Central Asian counterparts at the 15th EU-Central Asia Ministerial meeting, which will take place on 7 July in Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here