From Messi and Ronaldo to Maradona and Pele: Ballon d’Or ‘Dream Team’ Revealed


by Maxim Minaev

France Football magazine’s Ballon d’Or has published the voting results for the choice of the football dream team. The team is made up according to the scheme 3-2-2-3.

Argentine Barcelona striker Lionel Messi, Portuguese Juventus striker Cristiano Ronaldo, and ex-Brazilian national team player Ronaldo have been recognised as the best strikers in history by France Football magazine’s Ballon d’Or panel.

The best attacking midfielders are the three-time world champion Brazilian Pele and the recently deceased Argentinean legend Diego Maradona, according to the

For the position of goalkeeper, the journalists chose the only goalie to have ever won the Golden Ball – the USSR team football player Lev Yashin. Brazilian Cafu, Italian Paolo Maldini and German Franz Beckenbauer were put in defence.

In the centre of the field in the “Dream Team” would play the ex-midfielder of Munich Bavaria Lothar Matthäus and Spanish Barca legend Xavi.

The survey involved 140 journalists from the world’s leading publications. France Football this year decided not to award the Ballon d’Or due to the players being in different conditions amid the coronavirus pandemic.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here