Ashot Saghyan elected new president of Armenian National Academy of Sciences


YEREVAN, June 28. /ARKA/. Ashot Saghyan, the director of the Armbiotechnology Scientific-Production Center, has been elected as new President of the National Academy of Sciences of Armenia, the press service of the National Academy reported.

It said the three candidates ran d for the post: Ashot Saghyan, Lenser Agalovyan and Eduard Ghazaryan.

In the first round of voting, none of the candidates received a sufficient number of votes. In the second round Saghyan was elected with 55 votes in favor and 34 votes against.

Hrant Matevosyan was elected as Vice President, and Artur Ishkhanyan as Academic Secretary.

Ashot Saghyan will replace Rudik Martirosyan, who held the position since 2006.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here